Florida's Tim Walton, left, and Nicole DeWitt won SEC honors Tuesday.

Gators garner SEC honors

Special to Gatorsports.com
Tuesday, May 09, 2017 11:27 PM

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- Florida, the SEC regular-season champion, garnered part of the benefits Tuesday.

Eight different Florida softball players received 10 SEC awards, the league announced. The six All-SEC First Team selections are the most by any Gators team since the program's inception in 1997.

Led by SEC Coach of the Year, Tim Walton, the Gators finished the regular season with a 50-5 record and 20-3 mark in SEC play. Walton earns his fifth SEC Coach of the Year accolade since taking over the program.

"Today is a very special day for the Gators softball program. I'm extremely proud of our players for being honored by the SEC and the SEC coaches." Walton said. "Our entire program shares these special awards from starters to non-starters and from managers to coaches. I am very thankful to have such a great group of people to be around every day!"

Sophomore Kelly Barnhill (22-1) highlights the list of Florida selections as she earned a spot on the All-SEC First Team and awarded SEC Pitcher of the Year, as she has compiled a 0.33 ERA and even better 0.09 ERA in SEC play alone. It is the first SEC Pitcher of the Year award for a Gator since Stacey Nelson in 2009.

Joining Barnhill on the first team are Delanie Gourley (LHP), Kayli Kvistad (IF), Nicole DeWitt (IF), Amanda Lorenz (OF) and Aleshia Ocasio (DP/U). Senior Justine McLean earned All-SEC Second Team accolades while redshirt-freshman Sophia Reynoso landed on the All-SEC Freshman Team.

DeWitt, also selected as a member of the SEC All-Defensive Team, has provided exceptional play at second base this season for the Gators. She's helped lead the Gators to the top fielding percentage in the country for the third consecutive season.

Since 2006, a total of 28 Player and 56 All-SEC honors have been accumulated under Walton, and 80 have been selected overall since 1997. There has also been 21 SEC All-Defensive accolades by 13 players since the league introduced the award in 2008 and 30 student-athletes have been selected as Freshman All-SEC under Walton and 33 dating back to the accolades inception in 2004.

The complete 2017 SEC Softball Postseason Awards is as follows:

First Team All-SEC

P - Kaylee Carlson, Auburn

P - Kelly Barnhill, Florida

P - Delanie Gourley, Florida

IF - Nicole DeWitt, Florida

IF - Kayli Kvistad, Florida

IF - Katie Reed, Kentucky

IF - Caroline Seitz, Mississippi State

IF - Meghan Gregg, Tennessee

OF - Amanda Lorenz, Florida

OF - Cortni Emanuel, Georgia

OF - Bailey Landry, LSU

OF - Kylan Becker, Ole Miss

C - Carlee Wallace, Auburn

DP/U - Aleshia Ocasio, Florida

Second Team All-SEC

P - Alexis Osorio, Alabama

P - Allie Walljasper, LSU

P - Kaitlin Lee, Ole Miss

P - Matty Moss, Tennessee

IF - A.J. Belans, Arkansas

IF - Kasey Cooper, Auburn

IF - Alyssa DiCarlo, Georgia

IF - Kristen Cuyos, Texas A&M

IF - Riley Sartain, Texas A&M

OF - Alyssa Rivera, Auburn

OF - Justine McLean, Florida

OF - Sydni Emanuel, Georgia

OF - Regan Nash, Missouri

C - Sahvanna Jaquish, LSU

DP/U - Brooke Vines, Tennessee

Freshman All-SEC

P - Autumn Storms. Arkansas

P - Morgan Bruce, Ole Miss

P - Caylan Arnold, Tennessee

IF - Sophia Reynoso, Florida

IF - Alex Martens, Kentucky

IF - Braxton Burnside, Missouri

IF - Mackenzie Boesel, South Carolina

IF - Chelsea Seggern, Tennessee

OF - Elissa Brown, Alabama

OF - Alyssa Rivera, Auburn

OF - Bailey Vick, Kentucky

OF - Sarah Hudek, Texas A&M

DP/U - Bailey Hemphill, Alabama

SEC All-Defensive

P - Kaylee Carlson, Auburn

C - Carlee Wallace, Auburn

1B - Kaylea Snaer, South Carolina

2B - Nicole DeWitt, Florida

SS - Meghan Gregg, Tennessee

3B - Kasey Cooper, Auburn

LF - Bailey Vick, Kentucky

CF - Amanda Ivy, Mississippi State

RF - Sydni Emanuel, Georgia

Player of the Year: Meghan Gregg, Tennessee

Pitcher of the Year: Kelly Barnhill, Florida

Freshman of the Year: Caylan Arnold, Tennessee

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Kasey Cooper, Auburn

Coach of the Year: Tim Walton, Florida

View Full Site